[Games] Shardlight: “Green lung, I just wish they implied about smoking in here, somewhere, somehow.”

It’s from Wadjet Eye. I’m talking about the picture and the game.

Shardlight definitely had beaten Kathy Rain to the ground. From the concept, the characterization, the plot, and the puzzles (or maybe I’m just bitter about the poem). I still have grudge for that chalkboard. I mean… it was easy after you had gathered all the clues. But you won’t solve it if you try to brute force the answer or thinking about it without any proper guide. It stumped me good. Thank goodness the things called walkthrough is easy to search nowadays.

The story itself is really brilliant. Post-apocalypse and dystopia. What’s more do you need after setting like that? Okay, there’s more I wanted. But that’s not the point.

The story took place in a country that had been destroyed by bomb, twenty years (or twenty one? I forgot) later. But their condition didn’t change for better even after that many years passed because of the corrupt and sucky government called Aristocracy. Well, it’s a classic story we heard often, isn’t it?

Then, the interesting part… after the bomb, there was a new disease called green lung appeared. It was infectious, so the one who got it had to go to quarantine zone when they got worse. And there was still no cure for it. The only thing they could do after infected was getting a vaccine every month as long as they live. Unfortunately, the government didn’t give that vaccine to everyone. They just gave them to the people who could afford it aka the members of higher class in society.

If a person from a lower class wanted the vaccine, they had to take part in lottery by doing… a lottery job, yeah. And that was our main character did in the beginning of story before something happened and changed her—the world.

Aside for that, there was a story about the Reaper and his cult. If we were talking in the term of cooking, it was a nice spice. It didn’t make the food particularly delicious, but the taste would definitely change if we forgot to add it or replace the spice with something else.

Now, I like the idea of green lung. I think they actually could develop this part deeper to make the plot more interesting and give the concept more meaning than just a new disease without cure. Unfortunately, they didn’t. They chose to focus on the political side. And unfortunately again, it ended before it became too complicated. It is still good, I guess. Just leave you somehow a bit unsatisfied.

As you would expect from the story like this though, there were deaths and killings. I don’t mind. But… I don’t really like a certain death. I don’t think it was really necessary to kill them. Couldn’t they try to talk before pulling the trigger? I don’t like the “for the greater good” card the author pulled here. I mean… who were you to judge? Didn’t you think your method, in the end, was almost the same with the one you killed?

And the three slightly different endings just make it worse. It gave away the author’s opinion too much about that matter.

But okay. Aside for that, everything is okay and cool. The story felt a bit rushed, I think. Still enjoyable though. I felt really happy when I realized I could relate to the main character in this game so much better than I did in the Kathy Rain. It made me care more about what happened to her.

P.S (revision for previous post): Kathy Rain may not be the first point and click adventure pc game I’ve played. I don’t really remember them.

Leave a Reply

